Natural History

4/21/2013

 
April 20, 2013
I have never appreciated being in New York as much as today.

Three reasons:
Spring
Central Park
and The American Natural History Museum

I spent the whole day actually enjoying all three.

The common denominator of experience is wonder at nature. Environments, ecosystems as as subject have never failed to elicit awe and curiosity in me. For the record this is my firsthand experience of spring. And it is quite good to have New York associated with this memory, for this will be the kernel of a whole complex of associations of experiences and memories of succeeding springtime. The sun felt good, the air is warmer and breathable, and the sight of people lolling about, running, playing on the lawn of Central Park was just remarkable. The last time I was in the Park it snowed! I took the 6 train uptown to 77th st and walked from the Met Museum through the Park to the Natural History Museum, passing through the Belvedere Castle. And seeing families enjoying themselves made me appreciate the day even more.

I spent six straight hours in the Museum, having gone through all its permanent collections and seeing its 40minute show at the Hayden Planetarium. And I still had a hour's worth of walking from the West side of the Museum to East 44th: to digest the experience.

I realized that instead of making statements, I was better (and more authentic) in asking questions. In a way, I felt that majority of my life projects revolved around queries and inquiries. And that the regions of my interests (within which I ask a lot) are the following:

Cosmological/Mythological (The Universe,speculations in scientific and religious pictures of "the whole")
Ecological and geo-biological (The body, The earth as us as iterations of the organic and inorganic)
Historico-cultural (Societies, norms, shared habits, language and symbolic language)
Relational-social (Others, relationships, intersubjective communication)
Personal: History and Lifeworld Trajectories (The Unconscious, Personal prehistory and trajectory)
Consciousness (Phenomenology and Zen)

The American Museum of Natural History offered me the chance to get curious in three of the six regions of interest.

Picture
Lunar rock!

Comments are closed.