Getting there

7/12/2013

 

Yesterday I made two trips to Governor's Island to transport the last three pieces of the sculptures Ive stored in the apartment. Then I also took the last contents of tools in my studio (save for the chisels that I wanted to display - but may also pack up today). Every major activity that I have been doing lately is all about packing up, wrapping up. On my second trip out I met Jeremy on the street accompanying another grantee to the apartment. Serendipity has it, it was Yang Yeung, who I was supposed to meet in Hong Kong for the Glocal book project and yet for some reason I met her in New York as a fellow ACC grantee. Despite the expanse of the world cities are very well connected, I must say, for these meeting to happen. Anyway the sight of Jeremy with another grantee signaled for me the upcoming end of my New York journey. I am ready to leave, but somehow I cannot help but think how interesting and transformative this residency has been. 


We went to a big dinner thing with the rest of the grantees last night at Congee Restaurant in Bowery. it turned out to be a very big meal, indeed. Chong was there, and I was surprised to discover that he had returned from Berlin and Beijing as his residency from ACC is over and he was there for the Lincoln Center festival. Of course Vollak, Taiyo and Takeshi were there, as was Jeff and Hiroyuki. Isa didn't make it, but I will go to her show tonight with the guys. Along with Tung Pang and Racquel, I believe all names mentioned we are the Spring-Summer batch of ACC peers. It is often quite nice to note how you are part of a group. 


Today I am preparing to transport my very last pieces, from the Bliss exhibit, to the Studio at the Island. Ged Merino is helping me with the move. Tomorrow begins the two-day event that will serve as a preview of the Singapore show. Many of the artists in the studio like the work and were surprised at how much Ive made within the given period of the studio residency. Tomorrow begins the actual wrapping up, which culminates in Tuesday's pickup and packing up, and shipping. Then Ill just attend the Lincoln Center performance of Chinese acrobatics and beginning Wednesday, all I need is to clean up the studio, bid farewell to Governor's Island and start exploring the City once more, especially its museums. 


I have three essential things left to do in NY: Visit MoMa, Revisit the Met and the Cloisters, and watch a Broadway Musical, perhaps Phantom for the experience. I would have placed going to the Empire State Building but I hate heights. I can walk across the Brooklyn Bridge as well, and if I have some time I can even go back on a day trip to DC, go to Dia Beacon and also Storm King, perhaps with the gang. 


So there. I'm almost there. 


Comments are closed.