World Trade Center
I had to see Ground Zero on a weekend: so I went to see it this Saturday morning. I figured thats the best time to do so, wary as I am of having to jostle with the crowds of traders and businessmen in the Financial District downtown. No, I did not go to the Memorial. For some reason I do not have the will to do so. Besides, that was the one crowded today. So I took the 4 train Express to Fulton St and walked towards 9/11 site, passing by Trinity Church and afterwards strolled down Battery Park.

On that fateful day of the attacks, I was in the studio of the Silangan Gardens, mindlessly painting, wallowing in melancholy. I decided to paint an angel, an angry one, with wings of steel and hurling airplanes down a city. I had just had my birthday and I was so angry, so poor so hopeless. Then I turn on the radio and heard the terrible news of the planes crashing on the WTC towers and I looked at my painting with fear. The painting turned up to be on display of the new wing of the Pinto Art Museum. It was untitled then, and it is still is.

And so that is the reason why I had to see Ground Zero And when I did, I could feel the hairs of my neck stand up and even though it was a bright and cheerful spring morning, my thoughts saw nothing but a creeping sense of coldness. For some reason I felt some sort of shockwave passing through my body, and I could see the image of the plane smashing on the south tower again and again.

I took a photo of the new tower that is to completed this year. It looks defiant enough, but I cannot shake off the feeling of dread.
---



Leave a Reply.